About Green Earth

Our Mission

Governance

History

Green Earth, Inc. is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit land conservation organization.

Our mission is to preserve natural areas for the benefit of the people of Carbondale, IL.  

We own and maintain six natural areas, totaling 220 acres, and nine miles of hiking trails - all open to the public for outdoor recreation and enjoyment.
Green Earth is governed by 13 volunteer board members.  The board members meet alternate months to discuss property management and governance issues.  

Green Earth currently has one half-time employee, the executive director.  The executive director is responsible for the day to day operations which include coordinating volunteer manpower, drafting the quarterly newsletter, outreach projects, website development and maintenance, filing tax forms, drafting the annual report, and various other duties.

Green Earth was created in 1974 with the purpose of acquiring, preserving, and providing public access to natural areas in Carbondale.  The funding to establish this not-for-profit organization was provided by a grant from the City of Carbondale in the amount of $102,000.  


Green Earth acquired its first property, Brush Hill Nature Preserve, in 1976 using a portion of the grant money; the remainder of the money was invested.  Revenue from these investments generates about one-half of the annual 
operating Budget.  The other half comes from donations from the community.

Green Earth acquired its second property in 1979  with the purchase of a portion of the Oakland Nature Preserve (the property was later expanded in 2005).  Green Earth went on to acquire the Chautauqua Bottoms Complex (formerly called Green Earth's Wetlands) through several land purchases spanning 1990 - 2004. 

Green Earth acquired Fernlands Nature Preserve and the Flaglands Demonstration Prairie through land donations from private citizens.  Fernlands was donated by the Arnold Family in 1998 and Flaglands was donated by Harris Malan in 1999.

The newest Green Earth property, Pyles Fork Preserve, was conveyed to Green Earth in the summer of 2009 by the American Lands Conservancy. 


In 2009 Green Earth celebrated its 35th anniversary.  To commemorate the occasion, a comprehensive history of Green Earth was drafted by James Fralish, Dorcy Prosser, and Sara Baer. The history was put into pamphlet form and is available to view or download.

History Pamphlet 2009 ( .pdf download )

The People of Green Earth

Executive Director
Stephanie Eichholz                                    director@greenearthinc.org
618 201-3774

Officers
Beth Fisher, President                               beth.bfisher@verizon.net
Nathan Speagle, Vice President           S.P.Eagle9987@gmail.com
Wenona Whitfield, Secretary                wwhitfield608@gmail.com
Keith Beyler, Treasurer                            kbeyler@siu.edu

Board Members
David Gibson                                                 djgibson@siu.edu
Pat Justice                                                       patricaj@gmail.com
George Manning                                           muskingumensis@gmail.com  
Judy Martinko                                               judymartinko@hotmail.com
Ken Mayberry                                               ken.mayberry@sih.net
Dorcy Prosser                                               dorcyprosser2001@yahoo.com
Becca Tally                                                       becca.tally@gmail.com
Laurel Toussaint                                          laureltous@hotmail.com